Social Anxiety

I peeked out the door just a little bit.
I dared to take a chance.
Yes, the coast was clear!
Nobody was here.
It was time to make my move.
I slipped through the door and out into the hallway.

Then suddenly, footsteps.
In my head, I screamed.
Zooming through the door and slamming it behind me.
Whew, that was a close one.
But the damage was done.

My back to the door, I sunk down to the floor.
Wracking my brain to undo the knots in my stomach.
Woah there, calm down, it’s going to be okay!
Listen to me, you got away!

Yet it still felt like someone with a tight grip was squeezing all the blood out of my erratically beating heart.
My rapid shallow breathing was out of control.
Oh dear body, you are on a roll!

Image source

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

