The Light In Me

I think I’m finally beginning to understand
Who I am
I think I’m finally beginning to see
The light in me
For far too long I have doubted
And underestimated myself and my capabilities
But I am just as good as anyone else
I need to stop hating myself
For far too long I have been ungrateful, unloving, and cruel
Towards the only person who was with me through everything
The person who overcame every difficulty in my life-
Me
For far too long I would worry
About what others would think of me
Without realizing that the person whose opinions about me mattered the most
Or the only person whose perception of me even mattered at all
Was in fact
Me
For who will love me if not me?
I’m beginning to see the best in me
I’m beginning to fall in love with me
For I am the only one who knows and understands me
I have to give some credit to me
I’ve done a pretty good job with myself, you see?
And even if you don’t, that’s okay
Because the only person that matters in this regard is me anyway
I love being me



Image source

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

